Bakefest Project

13 November 2008 at 4:17 am Leave a comment

So it’s that time of the year again when birthdays and the Christmas holidays collide: a very dangerous mix of dearly loved one’s birthdays, and Christmas parties.

On last count, I have 4 birthdays, 4 Christmas parties, 1 three day trip to Hunter Valley, and a New Year party to attend to. And that’s not even counting another 3 birthday parties on January! And then holysmokes, it’s Valentine’s day once again.

Ok ok I don’t want to think THAT far. I will concentrate on November/December for now.

And first on the list is a friend’s birthday on Saturday. Now I’m in a bit of a dilemma: Friday night, I have 2 after work drinks to go to, so I’ll be coming home late. No time to bake the cupcake bases. Saturday morning, I try and sleep in before Body Attack class at 10.30am because it’s the only time I can get 8+ hours sleep, which I highly treasure. And then after the Attack class, I get home at 11.30, sometimes close to 12noon if I stay too long in the shower (try and do 4-5 Attack classes a week and you’ll understand the pain those legs go through… and a warm shower after class is just soooooothing). The party is at 1pm, which means I only have enough time to get ready and drive to their place (or the Bronte beach, if it doesn’t rain).

So where do I slot in the baking and the frosting? Hmmmm….. might have to wake up early on Saturday morning then. Oh well… all in the name of cupcakes!

Anyway, I have 3 baking cookbooks at home, 1 Nigella Express, 1 At Home cookbook, and 1 Australian Women’s Weekly Asian cookbook. Never mind the others, but I really really REALLY want to dig my hands into the 3 baking cookbooks. I’m at work right now so I can’t take photos, but I’ll try and upload some later when I get home.

So for Saturday’s party, I’ll pick a cupcake recipe from one of the baking cookbooks and try a recipe. A few of the guests are baking enthusiasts too (one’s a pastry chef – noooo pressure, Trish!), so it’ll be interesting to see what they’ll think of my cupcakes.

Ok enough procrastinating. Back to work, Trish!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Bagel Escapade! I bake, therefore I am

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 6,022 hits

