Garage Sale Treasures

4 November 2008 at 12:00 pm Leave a comment

Whoever said one man’s trash is another man’s treasure couldn’t be more true. It can apply to anything: garage sales, second hand uni books, relationships (eep!)… ok I take the last one back.

But I digress…

A few weeks ago, we received a flyer in the mailbox about a garage sale in a deceased estate (house). True to its name, the owner (occupant) of the house was an old lady who died of old age, and they were basically selling the things and donating the money to RSPCA. As eerily as it may sound, I do understand that buying someone else’s stuff can be a bit strange (especially if that someone has passed away). So between trying to respect the old woman, and curiously picking up stuff that are genuinely beautiful in a cheap price, I just kept telling myself that everything is for a good cause: RSPCA, which is an NGO that I truly believe in.

So I picked up a few things that I really think are brand new (in their plastic and in the boxes), hoping that the old woman wouldn’t mind if someone else uses them from now on.

Antique-style wine glasses (they came in a box of 2, so they reminded me of wedding stuff handed to the bride and groom, maybe? I dunno!)

I can think of a number of desserts I can put on those lovely wine glasses! From a traditional chocolate mousse, to the more delicate tastes of zabaglione!

A set of 6 cups and 6 saucers still in pristine condition inside their box (look at the detailing! It reminds me of a 1970s retro design.)

They are just perfect for my High Tea party plans, which I’m thinking of hosting sometime soon. I have a very nice teapot with 2 sets of cups and saucers, plus 3 cake tiers, but I was missing more cups and saucers for my prospective guests. These garage sale treasures came at the right time.

I’ve used the cups and saucers for some afternoon tea with mum and my sister, and somehow, tea always tastes better when drank from a proper teacup!

The wine glasses… well… let’s just say I’m still waiting for the right recipe. Maybe some nice, delectable green tea ice cream (which I just had this evening at Ichi-ban, TGV)? Or maybe a refreshing lemon jelly? Hmmm… we will see!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

SMH Good Food Month: Night Noodle Markets Chocolate cupcakes with chocolate buttercream

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 6,019 hits

